Strutting your stuff Part.II – The aftermath.

After my last post I got a fair bit of feedback via comments, not the kind I wanted exactly but in all honesty it’s good to have some constructive criticism. Puts your feet back on the ground so to speak.

I went away and asked a few acquaintances, a lot of them TOs or regular tournament players and got some more feedback. It was very positive and they presented good arguments for conversions in general.

The best and dare I say most “valuable” inout I got was when I contacted JT-Y. For those of you not familiar with JTY he’s a regular TO (notably the UK masters) and a great painter and converter, his khador army has even featured on Privateer’s website.

He went on to say that the only thing that bothers him is that he has seen the model used as Kell Bailoch its strange to see it as anything else. Otherwise as a TO he would be fine with the conversion but did recommend having the actual model on hand, even unpainted, just in case.

He says the UK tournament scene is very accepting of alternative models and that discourse between players is encouraged in case any differences do arise.

Now don’t get me wrong I’m not going to ignore what people have said against it because of this but I do like to think I can see both sides of the argument. So what have I learned? Simply that not everyone may approve, but all in all as long as I am comfortable with it and can explain it to my opponent then the use of such a model is perfectly legal and widely accepted, even encouraged.

So I’m happy, I get to use my model, it has been an interesting experience and thankyou to those who took the time to give me some input.

Let me know what you think!

