SmogCon Report – Part V: Steamroller

So a little late but better late then never right?…right?

Oh well, either way here’s the final Part of my SmogCon 2012 report: The steamroller event!

So this was a Standard 2 List steamroller event with normal timed turns, thankfully not as short as hardcore though so I was a bit more comfortable and generally in this event I was never pushed for time.

For my two lists I went for Irusk again and Vlad, probably my best backup caster at the moment.

Kommandant Irusk
* Black Ivan
* Sylys Wyshnalyrr, The Seeker

Great Bears of Gallowswood
Harlan Versh, Illuminated One
10 Kayazy Assassins
* Kayazy Underboss
10 Nyss Hunters
* Koldun Kapitan Valachev

Black Ivan is Irusk’s new best friend. with superiority up hes a DEF 14 jack’ with dodge, you gotta love it. Now don’t get me wrong he’s not Big B but at 35pts he does a good enough job and frees him up for Vlad to help add some punch where as Irusk manages just fine with Ivan. I have some good shooting with Ivan and the Nyss but this list is all about the battle lust, a spell that at 50pts I rarely get the chance to use. The damage potential is massive, especially on the Nyss (5d6 on the charge).

Vladimir, The Dark Prince
* Behemoth
* Spriggan
* War Dog

Kovnik Jozef Grigorovich
Lady Aiyana & Master Holt
10 Winter Guard Infantry
* Winter Guard Officer & Standard
* 2 Winter Guard Rocketeers

Now I know what you’re thinking; Winterguard without Iron Flesh?! Now hear me out, ok it’s not the magic defence 17 but 14 is still tough to hit for a lot of enemies and I wanted 2 Jacks in this list to best make use of vlad’s feat so I would only get one infantry unit which had to be reasonably tough and be able to clear out larger concentrations of infantry whilst the jacks’ and caster manoeuvred for the kill and Winterguard fit the bill perfectly.

My reinforcements for both these lists were 6 IFP+UA, really can’t go wrong with these bad boys they make a great flanking force.

Game 1 – Epic Asphyxious (Cryx)

Lich Lord Asphyxious
* Nightwretch
* A helljack (can’t remember which one)

10 Bane Knights
Bane Lord Tartarus
10 Bane Thralls
* Bane Thrall Officer & Standard
General Gerlak Slaughterborn
Warwitch Siren

Reinforcements: 3 Soulhunters.

My cryxian opponent from the hardcore the day before he presented me with either eGaspy or the Coven. I took Irusk as I knew he could hold out against the coven which is what I was expecting. I can’t say I wasn’t pleased when he put down eGaspy as he is probably the the caster I’ve played the most games against thanks to Elliot. Irusk was a perfect match for him with mass high def.

My Nyss moved up to the right, dealing with most of the banes and taking out the Soulhunters when they appeared, with some good shots tehy also managed to take away the majority of the bile thralls. My kayazay went up the right and along with my outflanking IFP tore into the Bane knights. I was able to be overly aggressive due to the reduced bile thralls and managed to score an early scenario point. I then blocked up and a general grindfest began as we both popped our feats but I seemed to be winning out as dice down was called and I won on Scenario points.

I was glad to get a win on the board and once again my opponent was a great chap and we had a solid game. I was bolstered due to a very good list matchup and a lot of practice against Gaspy.

Game 2 – eDenny (Cryx)

Warwitch Deneghra
* Deathjack
* 2x Nightwretch
* Skarlock Thrall

10 Bane Knights
10 Satyxis Blood Witches
* Satyxis Blood Hag

Once again a Game where I was hampered by a lack of knowledge. The blood witches were new to me as was denny herself and her rather…annoying style of play. I went with Irusk as he was the safer bet.

The kayazay went up the left with Ivan facing of against the witches as the Nyss went up the right towards the deathjack and Knights. I played aggressively feating with Irusk to hopefully put some pressure on Denny however unbeknownst to me the blood hag put paid to that plan cancelling my tough and with their combined attack shenanigans ate through my Kayazay, Harlan went for a Kill on Denny as she was sporting parasite but ended up slightly out of the stealth range. On the other side Crippling grapsed fought a stalemate with the deathjack and the Knights. All in all it was mostly a learning experience getting used to Denny’s tricks and a lot of mistakes were made which didn’t help. Dice down was called and I lost from points in the control area. Not the most fun game as Denny has an innate ability to throw a spanner in most plans but I will have an idea of what I’m stepping into next time!

Game 3 – eNemo (Cygnar)

General Adept Nemo
* Charger
* Hammersmith
* Stormclad
* Thunderhead
* Squire

Captain Arlan Strangewayes
3x Stormsmith Stormcaller

A very interesting game, I opted for Vlad as after my last little skirmish with Nemo I though he would be my best bet using windwall to nullify shooting and his feat to get a first blood on my opponents jacks. Now as good as I felt at the beginning of this game I am ashamed to admit that for me this game was just one mistake after another, stupid ones too, forgetting buffs and other effects effectively ruined my chances. I did managed to negate thunderhead’s shooting in the first turns and get a good strike on him but due to my mistakes failed to kill him. afterwards the Hammersmith knocked me out of engagement so the thunderhead could chew through the winterguard. Jacks slugged it out in the centre with winterguard pushing towards Nemo. In the end Vlad BoKs it up and sprinted to Nemo but after an energized charge and some good dice rolls he got crushed by the Hammersmith. I was gutted after this match, my opponent was a great guy I was just really disappointed in myself as the mistakes just piled up and ultimately cost me the game. We all have out days so I vowed the next and final game I would strive, win or lose, to not make a mistake!

Game 4 – eStryker (Cygnar)

Lord Commander Stryker
* Lancer
* Ol’ Rowdy

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages
10 Precursor Knights
* Precursor Knight Officer & Standard
2x Stormsmith Stormcaller
10 Sword Knights
* Sword Knight Officer & Standard

He had Stryker and Sloan so after wanting to make amends for my last game and thinking that he would be effective against both of them I took Vlad.

Now this game is the definition of “know thy enemy”.  I’ll sum it up nice and fast for you. Stryker goes first and uses his feat to get a load of high armour infantry into me first turn. At this point I spot that rowdy is dangerously close to Behemoth (under feat) with stryker behind him. Now this should of clicked with me that something was amiss as using a jack to sheild your caster B2B is a rookie error however it didn’t register so the assassination plan formed in my mind and after my last game I was eager to pull this off perfectly. Vlad feated and put up S&P giving his remaining focus to Behemoth. I then used the winterguard to clear out all the precursor knights that were blocking rowdy from Big B. A few sprays later and Behemoth slammed perfectly into Rowdy and knocked him a perfect 5 inches backwards through Stryker, knocking him down after which he put 2 boosted bombard shots onto him ending the game…Now this is what should of happened in my mind. As soon as I rolled the slam distance my opponent looked up with a feral grin and informed me that rowdy cannot be slammed when in contact with stryker….

……

At this point, surprisingly, I really wasn’t that bothered. I had managed to pull it off without a hitch apart from the rather MASSIVE one at the end but I chalk that down to experience. It comes as no surprise that stryker just walked around me after and showed Vlad what a real assassination run was!

Oh well twas just not meant to be I suppose, I can’t help but see the funny side of it and hell next time at least I’ll know! 😉

Aftermath

Well if anything I can say that once again it was a learning experience. This is where I think warmachine really shines. At the end of the day it’s all about the player and his abilities as a general and I like to think I walked away from this event a better one.

Comparing the game I won, ie against an opponent that I knew what I was doing against really drove the point home of doing your research and playing as many games as possible untill you can’t be caught out like I did in the other games. I remember I used to be caught out by Gaspy’s feat but I learnt how to play around it and beat it. All I need to do now is figure out the same plans for the other casters!

Despite my 7-1 loss I am still happy, I learnt a TON, much more then I have since I started playing the game and I know that next event I have more ammo for my arsenal and will have a much more sporting chance!

SO that’s the end of my SmogCon write-ups guys. I hope you enjoyed and sorry It took so long. Heres to Smogcon 2013 and hoping I can represent a bit better next time!

Let me know what you think!

