DiY: Recessed Bases

So I’ve been asked a lot recently how I did the bases for my Farrow so heres a quick step by step guide to making them yourself! Nothing complicated but they do look great and as we all know a good base can make or break a model. So read on fellows, read on…

Step 1: Drill holes around the edge of the base using your pin vice.

Step 2: Use a modelling knife to cut from hole to hole work around the base until it comes free.

Step 3: Use the knife to remove any excess chunks then sand the inside edge until it is nice and smooth.

Step 4: Trace round the base onto some plasticard and cut out the rough circle.

Step 5: The circle will be too big for the bottom of the base to start with so trim round the outside with some clippers until the disk fits inside the bottom rim of the base.

Step 6: Once the base fits (it doesn’t have to be perfect or flush) glue around the edges.

Step 7: Use green stuff/milliput to seal any holes around the edge. This is very important if you plan on using water effect.

And voila a recessed base, all you need to do now is use milliput/rocks/wood/whatever to make and epic setting for your chosen model….

…Like so! I use water effect to fill up my bases but there are many other things you could do, your imagination is the limit.

 

 

Hope that helps guys, quick and easy but oh so effective. Let me know if you used the guide and maybe even link some pics!

8 thoughts on “DiY: Recessed Bases

  1. I hadn’t contemplated putting rocks in the bottom, but I like the idea.

    You hit it on the head, though, with the need to drill out lots of little holes around the edge. The newer PP bases (textured versus smooth in the middle) seem much more prone to shattering if you don’t do the holes and instead just try to cut through.

    • I took one look at the bases and thought that unless I did something clever the minimum damage id do to it is bend the rim out of shape. Its slightly time consuming but no more so then trying to cut through 😉

  2. Black plasticard? What sorcery is this?!

    Nice technique! Looks like a great way to get an exciting base without making your mini look way taller than his comrades, which is a problem with a lot of scenic bases out there.

    • I know I found it in a local hobby shop, I like it for stuff like this as its thinner.

      and you hit the nail on the head there 😉

  3. I have done something very similar in preparation for my croc force as the deep bases are pretty pricey. One thing I did different though was use the thick hard plastic sleeves for the base material. Simply cut the edges off and you have two peice, each large enough to get two 50mm bases or several smaller ones out. Just put a bead of superglue around the base “ring”, press onto the plastic sheet and let dry. You can then cut out with a pair of scissors and clean up with a hobby knife.

  4. You could even use blister plastic for the bottom! I did something similar for my Freebooter so I could have him look like he was coming out of water. If I wasn’t so busy painting Cygnar, I’d finish him up…

Let me know what you think!

