Elric Tome 2 & Lone Wolves

timthumb--1-

I picked up two graphic novels this week which I enjoyed far two much to not write about!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first one was the second tome of Elric. An book adaptation that I have never read, though if it is as good as these comics then I think I’lll have to. Needless to say that the illustration is fantastic and really lets you feel the grandeur of the Melnibonéan empire and the decadence of its inhabitants. That being said its the ambience of this world that really gets me. Without wanting to spoil anything lets just say that this world is DARK. When the protagonist, the “good guy”, the one you’re meant to be rooting for gets up to the same kind of perverted stuff that you expect from most villains, well, lets just say the term “anti-hero” doesn’t quite cut it. It kind of messes with your moral compass. What goes around comes around however and after the twist at the end of this episode we’ll be getting into the thick of the saga so I can’t wait to see how it develops!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Second book’s story is not as convoluted however its universe is very special to me. Lone Wolves by Dan Abnett & Karl Richardson, it’s a re-release of an old Warhammer monthly comic strip compiled into an album. I love the old artwork, the whole thing just reminds me of my childhood. I love the Warhammer 40k universe and this one is just packed with the grim darkness of the future. Space Marines? Check. Beleaguered Imperial Guard who are clearly outclassed by their foe and the events surrounding them? Check. Those foes being gribbly, eat your face off, ask questions later monsters? Check. Guns that go DAKKA-DAKKA-DAKKA?! Double check. Its not Shakespeare but I’ll be damned if it’s not a good read for those who love a good old bit of grim’dark!

That’s my two-cents anyway, hope it motivates you to read them as they are both worth it. Hope I didn’t make this too long either so someone has actually stuck it out to read this !

Let me know what you think!

